Things I Learned in Newport

 

 1. I can watch a sail boat race and not have a clue what’s going on.

2. Don’t eat at a restaurant where the menu is full of spelling errors.

3. Be careful if you leave your car with a valet. You probably won’t get it quickly and end up stuck in traffic trying to get to your race on time. 

4. Don’t cram your bagel and peanut butter down your sauce box while stuck in traffic. It will not make your tummy happy.

5. Don’t tell yourself not to crap your pants during the race. That’s a sure-fire way to end up with a big turdy mess. (I did not crap my pants because I kept telling myself I was fine. Even though I was not fine). Mind over matter. Thinking positively really works in a a long run situation. Or any situation, really. I’ve heard lots of horror stories about pants-crapping, but never experienced it before. Not. Fun.

6. I so love running long distances. This race course was beautiful: miles of ocean, then mansions, then more ocean, then Fort Adams. There was a lot to keep me distracted from what was happening “down below”. 

7. I don’t have any other races on my calendar, so while distracting myself from my digestive issues I decided to spend my summer focusing on my new running group and building speed. Having fun. Meeting new people. Getting out of my comfort zone a little bit more.

8. I love being near the ocean. 

9. I will probably never find a race photo that I’m happy with. Why can’t I look like I’m flying through the air with an expression of determination and fire? Instead I look like I’m walking slowly and ready to fall over from exhaustion. 

10. Every time I go away I miss my family. And I’m always always always happy to be home again.
Til next time,

ROTH

Leave a Reply

